Consumer Tires Retail Suppliers

MTD wins 6 editorial and graphics awards

Order Reprints
MTD wins 6 editorial and graphics awards

Modern Tire Dealer received five medals for editorial excellence at the 20th International Automotive Media Awards (IAMA) ceremony, held Monday, June 20, 2011, at the Automotive Hall of Fame in Dearborn, Mich.

In addition to a gold medal, MTD's May 2010 cover went one step further when it won the "Best of Graphics" division (see photo). Art Director Neal Weingart received a crystal trophy for his "Is the glass half full or half empty?" design, which referred to the lead story on how private brand marketers were adjusting six months after a 35% tariff on Chinese consumer tire imports had been implemented.

Entered in the Magazine Writing division, MTD took home the following Foundation Award medallions:

* Gold, Editorial category, "The tariff effect, one year later," Bob Ulrich.

* Gold, General Technical category, "Emerging Technologies," Mike Mavrigian.

* Gold, Cover Design category, May 2010 issue, Neal Weingart.

* Silver, Reference category, “Not exactly recession proof," Bob Ulrich.

* Bronze, Single Issue (circulation 20,000-100,000) category, “Performance Handbook," Bob Ulrich, Lori Mavrigian, Mike Manges and Neal Weingart.

(To find out what these awards mean to us and you, check out the latest B.O.B. blog, "When your business succeeds because of us, we succeeded.")

The IAMA's "Best of 2010" winner for all media was Lindsay Brooke of His story, "Chevrolet Volt Development Story," was entered in the Internet/Introduction of New Model category.

Peter Brock, longtime vehicle designer, photographer and journalist, received the 2010 IAMA for Lifetime Achievement.

The purpose of the International Automotive Media Awards is to "recognize and encourage excellence in all forms of automotive media."

The IAMA is part of the International Automotive Media Competition (IAMC). Both are administered, produced and owned by the International Society for VEHICLE Preservation.

The awards ceremony was held in conjunction with the North America Concept Vehicle Awards.

You must login or register in order to post a comment.