Pirelli dominates Motocross GP in Portugal

Order Reprints
Pirelli dominates Motocross GP in Portugal

The fast and rough layout that hosts Portuguese national events saw the triumphant riders adopt the potent MidSoft 32 front and rear combination.

"It was a hard and slippery surface combined with rocks, holes and ruts and these conditions highlighted the high performance and versatility of these tires," Racing Service Manager Giovanni Gatti said. "Apart from the success on the track there was also evidence of the tire's success off the motocross circuit here with the presence of rally rider Helder Rodriguez, who scored third place at this year's Dakar."

MX1 belonged to the extremely competitive factory Suzuki rider Clement Desalle. The 22-year-old completed his second double of the season and maintained his position as leader of the MX1 championship. Challenging the Belgian's supremacy was defending champion Antonio Cairoli. The Sicilian finished as runner-up after two close and tense finales to the races and was ahead of Evgeny Bobryshev. In 5th place was French Grand Prix winner Steven Frossard; the Yamaha man was 3rd in the first moto but could do no better than 7th in the second after a bad start.

The Scorpion MX was the dominant tire in MX2, thanks to KTM's Jeffrey Herlings who claimed two second positions for the overall win and also the championship red-plate. Herlings celebrated his third win of the year after his team-mate (and victor of the first moto) Ken Roczen had a heavy crash in the second race and had to retire. Pirelli's podium presence was added to by Gautier Paulin (2nd), while other riders in the top ten included Max Anstie (4th), Christophe Charlier (6th), Tommy Searle (7th), Roczen (8th), Joel Roelants (9th) and Harri Kullas (10th). The seventh round of the series will take place next week at the circuit of La Baneza.

Overall Classification:

1.      Clement Desalle Suzuki  Team Rockstar Energy
2.      Antonio Cairoli KTM     Team Red Bull Factory
3.      Evgeny Bobryschev       Honda   Team World Motocross

Championship standings

1.      Clement Desalle Suzuki  p. 249
2.      Antonio Cairoli KTM     p. 237
3.      Steve Frossard  Yamaha  p. 213

Overall Classification:

1.      Jeffrey Herlings        KTM     Team Red Bull Factory
2.      Gautier Paulin  Yamaha  Team Monster Energy
3.      Zac Osborne     Yamaha  Team Bike-it

Championship standings

1.      Jeffrey Herlings        KTM     p. 257
2.      Ken Roczen      KTM     p. 251
3.      Tommy Searle    Kawasaki        p. 224

You must login or register in order to post a comment.