Retail Service

SEMA Show, pre-show: TIA inducts Hall of Famers

Order Reprints
SEMA Show, pre-show: TIA inducts Hall of Famers

The Tire Industry Association (TIA) inducted Lex Brodie, Robert “Bob” Dunlap and Richard “Dick” Johnson to the TIA Hall of Fame at TIA’s Tire Industry Honors event on Nov. 4, 2013, one day prior to the Global Tire Expo - Powered by TIA at the Specialty Equipment Market Association (SEMA) Show in Las Vegas.

As part of the event, Modern Tire Dealer Editor Bob Ulrich presented Dan and Diane Hennelly, owners of Hennelly Tire and Auto Inc., with the 2013 Tire Dealer of the Year award. They operate The Tire Choice and Total Car Care stores based in Fort Lauderdale, Fla. The Hennellys are MTD’s 21st Tire Dealer of the Year.

Lex Brodie, a native of Kauai, Hawaii, founded the Lex Brodie’s Tire Co. chain in 1961. Known as one of Hawaii’s greatest entrepreneurs, Brodie was a master at branding, advertising, and customer service.

In 1975, Brodie started the Small Business Association of Hawaii (now Smart Business Hawaii) to help small businesses to be better represented. In 1994, he received the Holo I Mua Award from the Better Business Bureau, which recognizes outstanding local businesses.

Brodie was also known for his passion for protecting the environment and his love of surfing. He passed away on Jan. 11, 2013, at the age of 98.

Bob Dunlap served as lieutenant in the U.S. Navy from 1951-53. Upon leaving the Navy, he transformed an old junkyard on his father’s property where he sold used tires off junk cars into one of Mississippi’s largest and most successful companies. The company now operates Dunlap & Kyle Co., Hesselbein Tire Co. and Gateway Tire Co. and has a total of 56 stores in 7 states.

Dunlap currently serves as president and CEO of Dunlap & Kyle. Over the years, Dunlap served on numerous dealer councils and was a founding member of the TBC Corp.

Dick Johnson retired from American Tire Distributors (ATD) in 2009. Prior to his retirement, Johnson served as chairman and CEO of ATD. Johnson led the company though 10 years of rapid growth, both organic and through a series of acquisitions.

In 2003, Johnson was named as chairman of TIA’s first state association committee. As chair of this committee, he worked with the executive directors of the state and regional dealer associations to improve relations with TIA and to develop ways in which TIA and the state groups could work together for the industry’s benefit.

Prior to becoming ATD’s chairman and CEO in 2003, he served as the company president since 2001. Before that time, Johnson led Heafner Tire Group’s Southeast Division as president.

TIA also honore Modern Tire Dealer Publisher Greg Smith as the recipient of the Ed Wagner Leadership Award.

You must login or register in order to post a comment.