15 finalists named in $125,000 ‘Search for a Champion’ contest

Order Reprints

Fifteen grassroots racers representing several different forms of engine-driven competition have been selected as finalists in the 2013 “Search for a Champion” racing sponsorship contest, which will award $125,000 in sponsorship cash from Federal-Mogul’s iconic Champion brand of spark plugs, wiper blades and chemical additives. Each finalist will receive a $5,000 Champion sponsorship and a chance to earn the contest’s $50,000 grand prize. Voting for the grand prize sponsorship begins Friday, February 22, at

The finalists ─ announced this morning at Daytona International Speedway by NASCAR Sprint Cup driver and Champion spokesperson Kevin Harvick ─ were selected from more   than 160 racers and teams who submitted two-minute video entries to the website. Over 81,000 votes were cast by racers, fans and members of the Champion community, and final judging was led by Harvick.

“Each of our finalists did an outstanding job of demonstrating their passion for racing and a commitment to take their skills to the next level in 2013,” Harvick said. “I’m proud to be associated with this innovative contest because Federal-Mogul and the Champion brand are helping to build the next generation of racing superstars.”
The 2013 “Search for a Champion” finalists are:

                Name                                    City/State                              Vehicle Class/Type
            Kolby Araki                           Clovis, Calif.                            USAC Sprint Car
            Cody Correia                        Lake Elsinore, Calif.                Motorcycle/Motocross
            Jason Feger                         Bloomington, Ill.                      Dirt Late Model
            Molly Helmuth                      Seattle, Wash.                         Super Late Model
            Ted Hodgdon                       Danbury, Conn.                      Junior Outlaw Kart
            Jolly Rogers Racing             Des Moines, Wash.                 Jet Sprint Boat
            Andy Lieders                        Colby, Wis.                              Snowmobile/Snocross
            Tristan Nunez                      Boca Raton, Fla.                     Prototype Lite
            D.J. Osborne                        Lehi, Utah                                Super Late Model
            Bobby Pierce                       Oakwood, Ill.                           Dirt Late Model
            Carl Rydquist                       Redondo Beach, Calif.           Time Attack & Drifting
            Donnie Steward                   West Burlington, Iowa             Dirt Winged Sprint Car
            Tyler Tanner                         Auburn, Wash.                      Straight Rail Late Model
            Taylor Toftemark                  Castle Rock, Wash.                Top Alcohol Jr. Dragster
            Wes White                           Pacoima, Calif.                       Vintage Motorcycle

Federal-Mogul also announced five “Honorable Mention” winners, each of whom will receive a $500 Visa Gift Card. They are: Alex Cognac, Marvin, N.C.; Sierra Jackson, Middleton, Idaho; Nick Lascuola, Abington, Mass.; Jeremy Lowe, Sarasota, Fla.; and Pittbull Motorsports, Bismarck, N.D.

Anyone can vote for their favorite entrant in the $50,000 grand-prize round of the “Search for a Champion” contest by registering at Those who register and vote will automatically be entered into a sweepstakes for 200 free Champion T-shirts as well as posters autographed by Harvick. Voting is open February 22 through March 24, 2013, and Harvick will announce the $50,000 “Champion’s champion” at 9 a.m. E.T. on April 2.

You must login or register in order to post a comment.