Sebring to honor Michelin

Order Reprints

Michelin will become the first tire maker and just the fourth company honored with induction into the Sebring (FL) Hall of Fame. The prestigious honor was announced today by the Sebring Sports Car Racing Hall of Fame board of directors.

Recognizing Michelin for its unprecedented 11 consecutive overall wins and 31 class wins at the world famous 12 Hours of Sebring endurance race, the organizers also noted the launch of the Michelin Green X Challenge at Sebring in 2009.

The Sebring Hall of Fame was formed in 2002 at the 50th celebration of the Twelve Hours of Sebring.  Previous inductees include Roger Penske, Dan Gurney, Mario Andretti, Hans Stuck, Derek Bell, Phil Hill, Juan Manuel Fangio and Jim Hall. Michelin will join Porsche, Ferrari and Audi as the only manufacturers in the Sebring Hall of Fame.  

 “Michelin would like to thank the Sebring Hall of Fame, our manufacturer and team technical partners and all of our engineers, researchers and support staff for contributing to our success and to this wonderful recognition” said Scott Clark, COO, Michelin Americas Small Tires.  “Our first goal in motorsports is not simply to win races, but rather to learn and develop technologies that can help us provide the right tires for consumers and competitors. This selection for induction helps validate that approach and we are truly honored,” said Clark.

Joining Michelin in the class of 2010 are former Sebring winning drivers Phil Walters, John Morton, Hurley Haywood and Derek Daly and former official Reginald S. Smith.

The induction ceremonies will take place in Sebring, Florida on Friday, March 19th on the eve of the 58th Annual Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring.

You must login or register in order to post a comment.