Yokohama drivers red hot at Redline Time Attack race at Spring Mountain

Order Reprints
Yokohama drivers red hot at Redline Time Attack race at Spring Mountain

The weather was hot, but Yokohama Tire
Corporation-sponsored drivers were on fire, scorching the competition
with two first-places finishes, three second-place finishes and the
overall event title at the Redline Time Attack race at Spring Mountain
Motorsports Park in Pahrump, Nevada, September 26-27. Yokohama drivers
competed at the 3.1-mile track on ADVAN A005 and new ADVAN Neova
AD08 tires.

The Redline Time Attack series, which features purpose-built
600-horsepower race cars and highly tuned street-legal vehicles, awards
points and names winners based on which driver achieves the fastest lap
time during competition.

Winners in Yokohama Tire-shod cars included:
--      Billy Johnson, Unlimited RWD Class, FX Motorsports Acura NSX (on
Yokohama ADVAN A005 slicks), 2:13.057, a track record and besting
second-place driver Mike Cronin Jr. (also on Yokohama A005s) by more
than 9 seconds (2:22.982 in the Fontana Nissan 350Z).

--      Jeremy Toye, Street AWD Class, Reese Tuning/Robispec Mitsubishi
Evo X (on Yokohama ADVAN Neova AD08s), 2:33.485, beating second-place
driver Stephen Ruiz (also on Yokohama AD08s) in the StopTech/AMS
Performance Mitsubishi Evo X, 2:34.868.

"Another great day for Yokohama Redline Time Attack racers," said Mark
Chung, Yokohama director, corporate strategy and planning. "Billy
Johnson is simply amazing. Yokohama' tires have been dominating the
series and we're looking forward to ending the season at Fontana with
even more first-place finishers."

You must login or register in order to post a comment.