TIA announces hall of fame inductees

Order Reprints

The Tire Industry Association (TIA) will induct John Kelsey, John Collins and four others into the 2009 Tire Industry Hall of Fame. The induction ceremony will be held at Caesars Palace on Monday, Nov. 2, at the Specialty Equipment Market Association Show in Las Vegas, Nev.

Kelsey is owner and president of Kelsey Tire Inc., which has the exclusive rights to replicate and sell Goodyear classic and antique tires. Collins, owner of American Crane Inc., is an inventor and former supplier group chairman for the former National Tire Dealers and Retreaders Association.

Four other industry veterans were inducted into the hall as "historical contributors." They are:

* Tom Pumpelly, founder of NTW;

* Robert Ewing, founder of Tire America;

* Charles Seiberling, co-founder of Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co.; and

* Harvey Firestone Jr., former chairman and president of Firstone Tire & Rubber Co.

The induction will be part of TIA's "Tire Industry Honors" event, which will run from 6 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. following the association's Wine and Cheese Social.

You must login or register in order to post a comment.