Retail Service Suppliers

More sponsors support Right to Repair Act

Order Reprints

The Motor Vehicle Owners’ Right to Repair Act (HR 2057) gained more co-sponsors again this week. Representatives Shelley Berkley (D-Nev.), Corrine Brown (D-Fla.) and Wm. Lacy Clay (D-Mo.) have joined the growing list of co-sponsors.

Since its re-introduction less than a month ago, congressional support for the Right to Repair Act has grown each week, according to Kathleen Schmatz, CEO and president of  the Automotive Aftermarket Industry Association (AAIA).

The Motor Vehicle Owners’ Right to Repair Act was introduced into the 111th Congress by Reps. Edolphus Towns (D-N.Y.), Anna Eshoo (D-Calif.) and George Miller (D-Calif.). It would require car companies to make the same service information and tools capabilities available to independent repair shops that they provide to their franchised dealer networks.

The legislation further provides car companies with strong protections for their trade secrets unless that information is provided to the franchised new car dealers. For more information about the Right to Repair Act, or for a complete list of co-sponsors, visit

You must login or register in order to post a comment.