Goodyear honors 347 associates for inventions, patents

Order Reprints

Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co. has recognized nearly 350 of its technical associates for their inventions and innovations.

Among those honored are inventors responsible for the following:

* DuraSeal technology, a revolutionary built-in commercial tire sealant that repairs punctures when they occur;

* the new Eagle with ResponseEdge and Carbon Fiber technology, a performance-touring tire that will start reaching consumers this month; and

* the Goodyear UltraGrip 7, an award- winning European winter tire.

The inventors work in the company's Technical Centers in Akron, Ohio, and Colmar-Berg, Luxembourg, as well as manufacturing locations around the world. They were responsible for 159 U.S. patents and 70 trade secrets in 2005.

The company recognized 19 associates as 2005 "Inventors of the Year." Eleven others were awarded "Silver Coin" honors in recognition of their contributions over the course of their careers with the tiremaker.

"We have become the industry leader in commercializing high-margin new products with relevant technology that consumers want -- and we intend to get even better," says Robert Keegan, chairman, CEO and president.

"We have a strong global portfolio of innovative and differentiated new products. These outstanding, award winning products are at the top of their categories, helping to demonstrate that tires are no longer a commodity."

Inventors of the Year

Akron, Ohio: Jim Gillick, Bob Gartland, Cecil Bennett, Tom Madrin, Jennifer Wall, Bina Patel Botts, George Balogh, Lenny Reiter, Mike Crawford, Luis Cabrera.

Marysville, Ohio: Robin Steven, Bud Brown

Colmar-Berg, Luxembourg: Jean Collette, Claude Jacoby, Dave Zanzig, Pascale de Briey, Richard Heinen, Philippe Manne, Andre Domange.

Silver Coin Awards

1. At the 60 level: Sam Landers, Akron (who has achieved 60 patents and trade secrets).

2. At the 40 level: Mahmoud Assaad and Neil Maly, Akron.

3. At the 20 level: Bob Brown, Len Charek, Ramen Majumdar, Ralph Okonieski, Jimmy Richards, Greg Shteinhauz and Vito Sinopoli, Akron; Laurent Colantonio, Luxembourg.

You must login or register in order to post a comment.