Right to Repair Act gains 10 more supporters

Order Reprints

Congressional support for the Motor Vehicle Owners' Right to Repair Act (H.R. 2048) has reached 61 co-sponsors.

"We want to thank the most recent 10 co-sponsors for supporting this vital piece of legislation that benefits every consumer who owns a vehicle, as well as every small business owner in the automotive aftermarket," says Kathleen Schmatz, CEO and president of the Automotive Aftermarket Industry Association (AAIA). "The growing support of the Right to Repair Act shows that Congress is taking this piece of legislation very seriously...."

The latest 10 legislators from the House of Representatives to announce their support of the Right to Repair Act are Rush Holt (D-N.J.), Tom Lantos (D-Calif.), Zoe Lofgren (D-Calif.), Kendrick Meek (D-Fla.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), David Price (D-N.C.), Charles Rangel (D-N.Y.), Rick Renzi (R-Ariz.), Clay Shaw (R-Fla.) and Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.).

The "Right to Repair Act," which was introduced by Reps. Joe Barton, (R-Texas), Edolphus Towns, (D-N.Y.) and Darrel Issa (R-Calif.), would require the car companies to make the same service information and tools capabilities available to independents that they provide their franchised dealer networks.

Architects of the Right to Repair Act added new language this year to clarify that car company trade secrets are protected unless that information is provided to the franchised new car dealer. The new language also clarifies the responsibilities of the Federal Trade Commission in enforcing the bill's requirements.

For more information about the Right to Repair Act, visit

You must login or register in order to post a comment.