Team Falken leads Formula D Championship

Order Reprints
Team Falken leads Formula D Championship

Only two races remain in a year that has seen Team Falken dominate every event.  Team Falken driver Darren McNamara is in 5th place (342 points) in the championship, with the remaining two Falken factory drivers, Tyler McQuarrie and Justin Pawlak, in 9th and 10th, respectively (275.5 vs. 267.5 points).

Team Falken is coming off a strong event last month in Las Vegas, when three of its drivers swept the podium, the second time Falken has accomplished the feat.  The performance tire manufacturer also took all three spots at New Jersey in 2009.  Thus far in 2010, Team Falken has earned nine podiums in just five events.

"Although the team’s success this year has been welcomed with open arms, we all must remain focused in our relentless pursuit of the ultimate goal," stated Jonathon Bradford, Falken’s Drift Team Supervisor.  "I am confident we’ll continue to finish strongly as the cars are well-prepared and we can count on the tremendous consistency of our Falken Azenis RT-615K tires."

Vaughn Gittin, Jr., continues to field his Monster Energy/Ford Racing Mustang, while "Dai" drives his Discount Tire Silvia S13 (240SX).  McNamara is in his topless Saturn Sky, and McQuarrie runs the Nissan 350Z Convertible, with Pawlak in a 2010 Ford Mustang.

The action continues this weekend for Round 6, September 10-11 at Infineon Raceway, Sonoma, CA, with qualifying on Friday, and the event beginning at noon on Saturday.

You must login or register in order to post a comment.