Hankook Tire driver Chris Forsberg wins Formula Drift Pro Series

Order Reprints
Hankook Tire driver Chris Forsberg wins Formula Drift Pro Series

After a season that saw him on the podium an incredible five times Hankook Tire driver Chris Forsberg has won the 2014 Formula Drift Pro Series Championship.  Forsberg’s overall Championship win is his second Formula Drift championship of his career, his first occurring in 2009, a feat only accomplished by two other drivers in the series’ history.

Going into the final race of the year at Irwindale Speedway in California Forsberg led in the Pro Series Championship points race by a mere 26 points over fellow Hankook Tire second place points holder Fredric Aasbo.  As racing continued throughout the day the inevitable happened and Forsberg and Aasbo paired up against each other going into Top Four. 

Both drivers pushed themselves, their vehicles and their tires to the limit, with Aasbo in his Hankook Tire Scion tC edging out Forsberg in his Hankook Nissan 370Z and making his way to a second place race and overall points finish.  But when it was all said and done Forsberg’s Top 4 finish earned him the points needed to maintain his first place points lead and capture the Pro Series championship overall. The final race of the 2014 Formula Drift season also saw Hankook driver Forrest Wang on the podium, after battling his way through the pack and securing a third place event finish.

“This season has been amazing, from winning the first race of the year in Long Beach, California to now winning the Pro Championship here in Irwindale,” said Hankook Tire driver Chris Forsberg. “I want to thank my team and Hankook Tire for their amazing support throughout the season and all of the Formula Drift fans who were at the races that pushed me to do my best. My Hankook Ventus R-S3 tires never let me down and gave me the competitive edge I needed all year.  This is the perfect a way to end a great season!”

All of Hankook’s Formula Drift drivers race on Hankook’s Ventus R-S3 Extreme Performance tire.  The Ventus R-S3 is designed for serious sports car, sports coupe and performance sedan enthusiasts looking for race tire-like traction on the street or for use in autocross, drifting or track events.

Forsberg’s Pro Champion victory and Aasbo’s second place overall championship points finish came after a season that saw the two battle against some of the most seasoned Formula Drift drivers in the world.  Their standings throughout the season, along with the points earned  by Hankook’s other drivers, was enough to secure Hankook Tire its second Formula Drift Tire Manufacturer Championship in a row after winning the inaugural Tire Manufacturer Championship at the end of the 2013 season.

“The 2014 Formula Drift season has been amazing.  Our drivers were great this year and I am extremely proud of Chris, his team and all of our drivers,’ said Paul Jho, Hankook Motorsports Marketing Manager. “Chris and his team really gave it their all this year and the results speak for themselves.  Not only has Chris finished the season in first place as the 2014 Formula Drift Champion, all of our teams gave it their all leading to Hankook winning the second Formula Drift Tire Manufacturer Championship.  I would say that is a job well done!”

Hankook garnered enhanced visibility and sales increases in 2013 as a result of its motorsports sponsorships and special racing programs. In addition to Formula Drift, Hankook offers amateur and professional racing enthusiasts contingency program benefits and the chance to earn incentives in SCCA National Solo, ProSolo and Club Racing events, NASA regional and national races, and additionally supports teams competing in the Redline Time Attack series, 25 Hours of Thunderhill, Off-Road Racing and the Panam GP Series.
Image: Chris Forsberg on the Championship Winner’s podium at 2014 Formula Drift round 7

You must login or register in order to post a comment.