Consumer Tires Racing

Fredric Aasbo Vies For Second Formula Drift Championship

Order Reprints

It's down to a two-horse race in Formula Drift as Rockstar Energy Drink Driver Fredric Aasbo prepares for this weekend's final fight of the 2017 season at Irwindale Speedway.

"We're a long-shot for this championship but we're still in it," said Aasbo. "In motorsport, you never say never. I won my first Formula Drift championship at Irwindale Speedway in 2015. Maybe I can win another one this weekend."
Aasbo has been locked in a fierce battle for this year's title with Irishman James Deane all season and heads into the finale in second, some 96 points off the leader.
This season, Aasbo has driven his brand new 2017 Rockstar Energy Drink / Nexen Tire Toyota Corolla iM to three podiums (two wins and a second-place result) and secured a spot in the record books as the most-winning driver, with 10 career victories.
Heading into the last competition round of the year, Toyota leads the points in the series' Auto Cup for manufacturers, while tire partner Nexen is second and climbing in the Tire Cup.

You must login or register in order to post a comment.