Wilson wins MOOG ‘Problem Solver of the Year’ Award at Kansas Speedway

Order Reprints

Clint Bowyer posted his third top-10 finish of the past four starts and his crew chief, Shane Wilson, moved into a tie for the lead in the race for the prestigious MOOG “Problem Solver of the Year” Award following Sunday’s Hollywood Casino 400 NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Kansas Speedway.

“Shane has made a huge run over the past month, and he has done it by giving Clint a very competitive car in a wide range of racing conditions,” said Federal-Mogul Motorsports Director Tim Nelson. “They didn’t make the Chase this year, but they’ve shown they are one of the most consistent and competitive cars out right now. The No. 33’s MOOG-equipped chassis is dialed in for a win, and they just might get one before the year is out.”

Five-time defending Sprint Cup champion Jimmie Johnson also is returning to form just in time. Johnson dominated Sunday’s race – leading 197 of 272 laps – en route to his second win of the year. Johnson and the MOOG-equipped No. 48 Lowe’s Chevrolet rose two spots to third overall in Chase points, just four points behind leader Carl Edwards.

The MOOG Problem Solver of the Year Award is presented to the crew chief who has the most weekly MOOG Award wins. In the case of a tie, the award goes to the crew chief whose car ranks highest in season-ending Sprint Cup points.

“This award is always one of the most competitive in Sprint Cup racing,” Nelson said. “There’s a lot of pride in the pits and every crew chief wants to show that he’s the best of the best when it comes to solving problems during a race.”

MOOG steering and suspension components are the leading choice of NASCAR crew chiefs and automotive repair professionals and have helped drive an unprecedented 45 consecutive NASCAR Cup champions to victory.

For the latest news and statistics regarding the MOOG Problem Solver awards, simply click on the “NASCAR” link on the brand’s popular website.

You must login or register in order to post a comment.