Right to Repair Act gains four new sponsors

Order Reprints

Congressional support for the Motor Vehicle Owners’ Right to Repair Act of 2007 (H.R. 2694) is growing, with four new sponsors added on Aug. 1.

The legislation now has 24 co-sponsors, says Kathleen Schmatz, CEO and president of the Automotive Aftermarket Industry Association.

“We want to thank the four new co-sponsors for supporting this vital piece of legislation that benefits every car owner and small independent repair shop,” says Schmatz. “The growing co-sponsor list for the Right to Repair Act demonstrates the commitment by many members of Congress to ensuring that their constituents, and not the large car companies, retain the ability to choose where to have their vehicle serviced and repaired.”

The new legislators supporting the Right to Repair Act are Reps. Howard Berman (D-Calif.), Alcee Hastings (D-Fla.), Donald Payne (D-N.J.) and Albert Russell Wynn (D-Md.).

For a complete list of co-sponsors, visit

You must login or register in order to post a comment.