Nominations for the 2007 Tire Industry Hall of Fame can begin May 1

Order Reprints

The Tire Industry Association (TIA) will begin accepting nominations for the 2007 Tire Industry Hall of Fame on May 1, 2007. All entries must be received by July 1.

The Tire Industry Hall of Fame is open to individuals in the tire industry, including manufacturers, inventors, publishers, equipment suppliers, tire association executives, tire dealers, tire and rubber recyclers and retreaders.

The "Historical Contributors" category will be included again in 2007. This category recognizes those individuals who have been out of the industry for at least 20 years or more. These individuals may be retired, deceased, or may have begun their career in the tire industry and moved on to a different industry.

Inductees are chosen based on the following criteria:

1. their contributions of new ideas, practices, and/or innovations that promote the health and well-being of the tire industry;

2. their exemplary and distinguished service in the tire industry; and

3. the respect of their peers.

Contributions in civic, cultural, educational, or charitable endeavors will be considered but are not a primary consideration for selection.

"This is an exciting time for the association," says TIA President Paul Hyatt. "We are always amazed each year when we look at the submissions and the significant contributions that have been made by the nominees. I'm sure this year will be no different."

TIA also is accepting nominations for the Friend of the Industry Award (a former International Tire and Rubber Association award), which recognizes well-known individuals who are allies and proven supporters of the tire industry. These individuals are not part of the tire industry, but have affected it positively in some manner.

The deadline for nominations for both awards is July 1. Nomination forms are available on or by calling TIA headquarters at (301) 430-7280, ext. 109.

The 2006 hall of fame inductees were: Jaques Bajer, president of Tire Systems Engineering Inc.; Armando Tornel Murillo, executive president, Empresas Tornel; Giovanni Pirelli, founder of Pirelli Tire; Jerry Shaw, editor of Tires (now Modern Tire Dealer); Charles and John Gates, International Rubber (Gates Rubber), manufacturers of the Half-Sole, a type of rubber tread cemented over worn tires that paved the way for modern day retreading; and Phil Lansdale and Don Carr, founders of 4dayTire Stores.

The hall of fame inductions will take place on Tuesday, Oct. 30, at the 2007 Specialty Equipment Market Association Show in Las Vegas during TIA's Breakfast with the President at Caesars Palace. For further information, visit

You must login or register in order to post a comment.