Commercial Business Retail Service Wholesale Distribution

MTD publisher receives TIA leadership award

Order Reprints
MTD publisher receives TIA leadership award

The Tire Industry Association (TIA) has honored Modern Tire Dealer publisher Greg Smith with the Ed Wagner Leadership Award.

He will be recognized at TIA’s Tire Industry Honors event on Nov. 4, 2013, one day prior to the Global Tire Expo and Specialty Equipment Market Association (SEMA) Show in Las Vegas, Nev.

The award is named in honor of the late Ed Wagner who was a strong voice in the tire industry for the entirety of his career.

“I am extremely humbled to receive the Ed Wagner Leadership Award. It is truly a great honor and one that would not be possible without the great associates who work with me at Modern Tire Dealer,” says Smith, a 33-year veteran of automotive trade publishing.

Smith has held various publishing positions at the management level. He has worked extensively on both the editorial and publishing sides of the business and is a recognized expert in the aftermarket and tire industries.

From his early years in the market, Smith has actively participated on industry committees and boards. Among the early ones were Automotive Parts Manufacturers’ Association and the Automotive Aftermarket Industry Association. He also worked with the Automotive Warehouse Distributors Association, SEMA and TIA (formerly the National Tire Dealers and Retreaders Association and the Tire Association of North America).

TIA also announced three inductees to its Hall of Fame for 2013. For details see TIA honors 2013 Hall of Fame inductees.


You must login or register in order to post a comment.