Michelin official tyre supplier for FIA Formula E

Order Reprints

The Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA) has today confirmed that Michelin will be the official tyre supplier for the FIA Formula E Championship.

The FIA Formula E Championship, the new city-centre electric racing FIA championship making its debut in 2014, is promoted by Formula E Holdings. It aims to bring electric racing to the people, with city centres around the globe playing host to an electric energy World Championship designed to promote interest and investment in electric vehicles and sustainable motoring.

An open championship, the FIA Formula E Championship gives car manufacturers the opportunity to showcase their electrical energy innovations in a racing environment, designing cars to the technical specifications set out by the FIA.

The debut season will see a street circuit race calendar designed to take in famous landmarks, with events so far confirmed in London, Rome, Miami, Los Angeles, Putrajaya, Beijing, Buenos Aires, and Rio de Janeiro. Expressions of interest were received from 23 host cities keen to play a role in the future of motorsport.

Two teams representing Britain and China have become the first candidates of what will become a 10-team and 20-driver grid for the first Formula E season. Drayson Racing and China Racing were attracted to the championship by the opportunity it affords designers and manufacturers to showcase the ability of electric vehicles on a global stage.

Final ratification of the 2014 FIA Formula E Championship calendar will take place at the September meeting of the World Motor Sport Council.

You must login or register in order to post a comment.