Michelin Green X Challenge at Petit Le Mans

Order Reprints

The test of 1000 miles of competition on the hilly, demanding 2.54-mile Road Atlanta circuit reinforced the link between the clean, fast and efficient performance demands of the Michelin Green X Challenge and success in American Le Mans Series competition.
Taking their second consecutive Michelin Green X Challenge GT win and third this season was the ALMS GT class-winning #01 Extreme Speed Motorsports Ferrari F458 Italia driven by team owner Scott Sharp, Johannes van Overbeek and Toni Vilander.
A second-place Michelin Green X Challenge finish today matched the race finish for the #03 Corvette C6 ZR1 driven by Jan Magnussen, Antonio Garcia and Jordan Taylor, coupled with their four previous victories, secured the Michelin Green X Challenge GT Championship for Corvette Racing.
The #055 Level 5 Motorsports Honda driven by Indy 500 winner Dario Franchitti, former ALMS champion Marino Franchitti and team owner Scott Tucker, took the Michelin Green X Challenge Prototype award in today’s season finale, Petit Le Mans at Road Atlanta.
The Michelin Green X Challenge Prototype Championship was clinched prior to today’s race by the #6 Muscle Milk Pickett Racing’s Honda with co-drivers Klaus Graf and Lucas Luhr.
“With its high speeds, elevation changes and 1000-mile race distance, Petit Le Mans provides a difficult test for manufacturers, teams and drivers,” said Silvia Mammone, Michelin motorsports manager. “To see the winner of the GT category, one of the most competitive classes worldwide, win the pole, the GT race and the Michelin Green X Challenge is a clear example of the linkage between clean, fast and efficient performance and race results.”
To date, 32 of the 74 Michelin Green X Challenge winners in the ALMS have also won their respective classes on track.
America’s premier environmental competition, the Michelin Green X Challenge has had 26 different cars from 20 teams and 13 manufacturers, featuring four different fuels and three tire manufacturers earn victories in the 76 total race awards (2009 – 2012).

You must login or register in order to post a comment.