Retail Service

ASE Is Adding A Test for Master Truck Technicians

Order Reprints

The National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE) is adding the Preventive Maintenance and Inspection (PMI) test (Test T8) to the requirements for ASE Master Truck Technicians.

ASE says the change is being made in response to changing federal tracking and reporting standards, as well as industry requests.

The new requirement will take effect on Jan. 1, 2017. At that time, technicians will need to pass T8 along with the currently required tests (T2 through T7) to earn the Master Truck designation.

"Addition of the PMI (T8) test is the result of input from trucking industry representatives who explained that increased Compliance, Safety and Accountability (CSA) standards are being imposed by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration," said Tim Zilke, ASE CEO and president. "A greater emphasis on maintenance and inspection will help motor carriers improve their overall CSA ratings."

Current master truck technicians will keep their master status until the first of their current truck certifications expires, even if that date is in 2017 or later. When the time comes to recertify, they will also need to take and pass the T8 test. Those who earn the master truck designation after Jan. 1, 2017 will have to pass all seven tests (T2 through T8) to qualify.

Further information on this change is available at

ASE was established in 1972 as a non-profit organization to help improve the quality of automotive service and repair through the voluntary testing and certification of automotive technicians and parts specialists.

ASE says there are more than 300,000 ASE certified professionals at work in dealerships, independent shops, collision repair shops, auto parts stores, fleets, schools and colleges throughout the country.

You must login or register in order to post a comment.