Metzeler wins Las Vegas finals and Endurocross championship

Order Reprints

A capacity crowd filled the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas, Nev., on Nov. 20 and watched Metzeler enduro expert and KTM rider Taddy Blazusiak win the race and defend his AMA EnduroCross Championship title.

KTM’s Geoff Aaron finished second in both the race and championship for the second year in a row. 2010 AMA Trials champion Cody Webb earned his first ever EnduroCross podium.

The AMA EnduroCross Championship incorporates various elements of off road racing into an indoor supercross-style setting, including boulder-style rocks, logs, sand, mud, a water hole and special obstacles (such as giant tires) to navigate.

Blazusiak started off the day with single qualifying hot laps where riders are on track by themselves, and chose Metzeler's 6 Day Extreme Mid Hard tire for the front and Metzeler's 6 Day Extreme tire for the rear of the bike. He set the fastest time, barely edging out Monster Kawasaki’s Justin Soule, who, in turn, was followed by rival KTM rider Geoff Aaron.

All three riders earned first picks for the heat races and earned quick trips to the main event by winning their respective heats.

Geoff Aaron got aggressive on the start of the main event and pushed Blazusiak a little wide to take the holeshot, but Blazusiak fought back quickly to take the lead. Aaron stayed close for most of the race to keep Blazusiak honest, but ultimately lost touch, allowing Blazusiak to edge away and take the win.

2010 Geico EnduroCross Expert Class final points

1. Taddy Blazusiak, KTM.

2. Geoff Aaron, Christini KTM.

3. Justin Soule, Kawasaki.

4. Cory Graffunder, Husqvarna.

5. Kyle Redmond, Kawasaki.

For rules and race information, visit Metzeler Reifen GmbH is owned by Pirelli & Cie SpA.

You must login or register in order to post a comment.