Right to Repair Act gains more co-sponsors

Aug. 1, 2007

Congressional support for the Motor Vehicle Owners' Right to Repair Act of 2007 (H.R. 2694) has reached 19 co-sponsors.

The most recent legislators supporting the "Right to Repair Act" are Reps. Madeleine Bordallo (D-Guam), Julia Carson (D-Ind.), Steven LaTourette (R-Ohio), John Lewis (D-Ga.), Zoe Lofgren (D-Calif.), Mike McIntyre (D-N.C.), Collin Peterson (D-Minn.), Pete Stark (D-Calif.) and Ed Whitfield (R-Ky.).

"The growing co-sponsor list for the Right to Repair Act demonstrates the commitment by many members of Congress to ensuring that their constituents, and not the large car companies, retain the ability to choose where to have their vehicle serviced and repaired," says Kathleen Schmatz, CEO and president of the Automotive Aftermarket Industry Association.

The Right to Repair Act, which was introduced by Rep. Edolphus Towns (D-N.Y.), would require car companies to make the same service information and tools capabilities available to independent repair shops that they provide to their franchised dealer networks. The legislation further provides car companies with strong protections for their trade secrets unless that information is provided to the franchised new car dealers.

The bill clarifies the responsibilities of the Federal Trade Commission in enforcing the bill's requirements.

For more information, visit www.RightToRepair.org.