Ekström wins DTM Nürburgring race with Hankook

Aug. 8, 2011

At the Nürburgring, the Audi driver won the sixth DTM race of the year. Having started from pole position, the two times’ DTM champion controlled the race at the front of the field in a commanding way and after a 15 months’ winless streak finally scored a victory in the Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters again.

With one lap remaining, Bruno Spengler (Mercedes-Benz) claimed second place and thus extended his points’ lead in the drivers’ standings to seven points from Martin Tomczyk (Audi), who ended up fifth in the race.

After locking up under braking, Mike Rockenfeller (Audi) lost his almost certain second place and ended up third. With his Audi A4 DTM, Timo Scheider finished fourth. With four drivers in the top five and Mattias Ekström as the winner, a successful race weekend at the Nürburgring with its long heritage came to an end for the car manufacturer from Ingolstadt.

At the legendary Eifel circuit, the Hankook slick tyres showed their usually strong performance. Both in long stints or brief spells between the pit stops with ultra-fast laps, irrespective of the race strategy, drivers and teams could rely on the Hankook tyres and always got excellent support from the Ventus F200.