Drew Blickensderfer wins MOOG ‘Problem Solver’ Award at New Hampshire

Sept. 27, 2011

Drew Blickensderfer, crew chief for David Ragan and the MOOG chassis parts-equipped No. 6 UPS “We Love Logistics” Ford, picked up his third MOOG “Problem Solver of the Race” Award after the No. 6 car posted its third consecutive top 11 finish in Sunday’s Sylvania 300 NASCAR Sprint Cup race at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

Blickensderfer is now tied for the lead with four other crew chiefs in the battle for the season-ending MOOG “Problem Solver of the Year” Award.

Following each Sprint Cup race, MOOG steering and suspension parts manufacturer Federal-Mogul Corporation presents the MOOG Problem Solver of the Race Award to the crew chief whose car posts the best improvement in average lap speed over the second half of the event. The Roush Fenway Racing-owned No. 6 Ford was tops in Loudon with a 0.411-second increase and a seventh-place finish. All four of Roush Fenway’s Ford Fusions finished in the top eight.

“David has looked very good over the past month and he and Drew could very well win another race this year,” said Federal-Mogul Motorsports Director Tim Nelson. “They were a lap down early but their MOOG steering and suspension system was zeroed in over the second half. Drew also made some smart calls on fuel strategy toward the end.”

Ragan struggled in the early stages but minor chassis adjustments during the first pit stop seemed to unleash the No. 6 Fusion. It was running second by the midway mark and within striking distance of the lead for the balance of the race.

With three MOOG Problem Solver of the Race Awards, Blickensderfer moves into a tie with Bob Osborne, Steve Letarte, Gil Martin and Paul Wolfe in the race for season-ending MOOG honors.
“We’ve got a crowded field heading into the final eight races, which shows how tight the competition is in the pits as well as on the track,” Nelson said. “The only sure bet is that the best problem solver will find a way to separate his car from the pack and claim this prestigious award.”