TIA forms State Association Council

Nov. 10, 2004

The Tire Industry Association (TIA) has formed a State Association Council, which will provide a direct link between the state associations and TIA’s Executive Committee and board of directors.

The co-chairs of the council are Shaw Jared, executive director of the Tennessee/Kentucky Tire Dealers Association, and Tom Wright, TIA treasurer and board member.

The council members are Peggy Fisher, TIA secretary; Larry Morgan, advisor and TIA past president; Bob Smith, executive vice president of the North Carolina Tire Dealers and Retreaders Association; Steve Akridge, executive director of the Virginia Tire and Automotive Service Dealers Association; Shawn Herrick, executive director of the Mid-America Tire Dealers Association (covering Kansas, Nebraska and Oklahoma); and Chuck Space, executive director of the Texas Tire Dealers Association.

"We are looking forward to developing a much closer relationship with the state tire dealer associations," says TIA President Dick Gust. "We feel the formation of this council will open up exciting opportunities for all of us."

The council will focus on coordinating activities between TIA and the state associations "on issues of mutual benefit," according to Roy Littlefield, TIA´s executive vice president. "We believe the industry will benefit from the sharing of ideas and programs between TIA and the state associations."

In addition to the formation of the council, TIA will host a "State Association Executives Fly-In" in Washington, D.C., Mar. 1-2, 2005. For more information on the "conference and lobbying day," contact Becky MacDicken at [email protected]. She also can be reached by calling (703) 642-3162.