Automotive Hall of Fame selects Michelin founders

March 28, 2002

Tire innovators Andre and Edouard Michelin were selected for induction into the Automotive Hall of Fame.

The Michelins join five others in the 2002 induction class: Giovanni Agnelli, Giorgetto Giugiaro, Frank McCarthy, Richard Petty and Owen Skelton. The seven represent racing, design, engineering and bold innovation.

The inductees were announced today at the International Motor Press Association meeting at the New York Auto Show. Formal induction ceremonies will take place near Detroit, Mich., on October 15, 2002.

Brothers Andre (1853-1931) and Edouard (1859-1940) founded the Michelin company in 1889 by developing the detachable, air-filled rubber tire mounted on a metal wheel rim. The Michelins helped convince auto makers of the utility of inflatable tires.

Agnelli was one of the founders of FIAT. Giugiaro designed more than 80 mass-produced cars and developed numerous concept cars for the world's top manufacturers. McCarthy was president of the National Automobile Dealers Association from 1968- 2001.

Petty is a seven-time Winston Cup champion and recorded a record 200 career victories in NASCAR racing.

Skelton, along with Carl Breer and Fred Zeder, formed a dynamic team of engineers known as the "Three Musketeers," whose efforts resulted in the creation of the Chrysler Airflow and other groundbreaking inventions. Skelton is also credited with the development of four-wheel hydraulic brakes, all-steel body construction and an engine mount system known as "floating power."

The Automotive Hall of Fame is located in Dearborn, Mich.