On the Rise: Brandon Burns

Nov. 1, 2016

Brandon Burns

Store manager | Firestone Complete Auto Care | Age: 28

What was your first job in the industry?

I started as a part-time general service tech at NTB Tire & Service Center and quickly moved into sales.

What attracted you to the industry?

My father was in the retail tire and service industry. My passion and drive comes from being raised around cars and racing. It’s really all I’ve ever known.

What is the biggest challenge you’ve faced in your career?

Age. As much as I try not to think about it, being the boss of teammates most of half my age is the most challenging.

Who has had the biggest influence on your career?

Pat Mattes. Pat was a district manager for the Columbus region of Firestone for over 20 years. Pat has hired some of the best in the business, even a few that have made it to the top of some of the largest tire retailers in the world. I am honored to call him a mentor and a true influence of mine and the industry.

What is your biggest accomplishment in the industry?

Having teammates who now look up to me as I did to my boss 10 years ago when I started in the business. Also, being able to train new teammates about the industry and empower them to have the passion and drive that I had when I started.

What do you expect to be doing 20 years from now?

Relocate out west or down south to a warmer climate and manage an area or region of retail tire and service facilities.

What’s the biggest issue facing the industry today?

Finding hard-working, passionate, obsessed-to-learn-about-the-industry people.

What’s the one thing you wish someone would have told you before you entered the industry?

I was very knowledgeable about the industry before I started from my father.

How do you encourage others to enter the industry?

It offers consistent pay and the ability to grow and be promoted from within.

Tell us about your family.

My father was an entrepreneur in the aftermarket wheel, tire, and service industry while I was growing up. I was raised as an only child mostly by my mother.

What’s your favorite weekend activity?

Relaxing, smoking cigars, racing, and cars.

What keeps you up at night?

Watching racing and car videos on YouTube, and looking for fast car and motorcycle parts.

Tell us something about yourself others might not know.

I have been over 200 mph on a motorcycle.

What’s your guilty pleasure?

Smoking cigars.

Name a talent you wish you had.

To be a "good" singer.

What’s your favorite food?

Chicken fingers and club sandwiches.

If you could have dinner with anyone, living or dead, who would it be?

Robert Herjavec.

If we took your cell phone away and said it would cost you $1,000 to get it back, how long would you survive until you paid the ransom?

As long as it took me to find an ATM and get the cash out.