On the Rise: Kasmen Monrose

Nov. 1, 2021

Kasmen Monrose

Commercial Sales Representative |Tirecraft / Protreadz | Age: 35

What was your first job in the industry? 

This was my first job, I started off by sweeping floors and emptying garbage cans. I quickly learned how to change passenger and  light truck tires so well that I wanted more of a challenge. I dove head first into commercial tires and found my calling, I became so diverse that I started to do industrial, off-the-road and agriculture tires.

What attracted you to the industry?

As a kid I always wanted to be a police officer or a firefighter to help people out when in need. This is my way of helping people. I keep the tire industry rolling one tire at a time.

What is the biggest challenge you have faced in your career? 

The biggest challenge I have faced in my career was going from a commercial tire tech to a sales representative. I had to learn a completely different skill set that I wasn't used to. I was afraid of being a failure or not worthy enough, but my drive and determination has kept me pushing forward and has made me a force to be reckoned with.

Who has had the biggest influence on your career? 

My boss has been the biggest influencer in my career. She has provided me with a lot of the knowledge and skills I have obtained over the years. She shows compassion, warmth and tenderness and has always encouraged me to be true to myself, be honest, and always uphold my integrity. She has always shown great and true leadership skills, this is why she is my biggest influencer in my career.

What is your biggest accomplishment in the industry? 

I spent the past 14 years as a commercial technician and was given the opportunity to be a sales representative. This was a huge accomplishment as I have always shown I have the skills and knowledge to handle my customers' fleets. Starting from the bottom and working my way up has allowed me to keep humble, to earn the respect of the other commercial techs and my customers. When my customers see that I not only will sell them tires but also get dirty and install them too it really shows my customers that I know first hand what I am talking about and that I am willing to do whatever it takes to keep their fleet up and running.

Tell us about your current job and responsibilities. How do you spend your work day?

My main responsibility is overseeing my customers’ fleets and taking care of any of their tire needs. I help keep them rolling by doing fleet inspections and maintain inventory levels. By doing this, it allows not only my fleet managers but myself to be proactive in the fleet. I also actively work in the field, sharing road duties with my other service techs. By continuing to provide service it allows me to know first hand how my customer’s fleets are being handled. I also help clean up my customers’ yards by picking up casings for scrap, retreading or casing credits. I also deliver new products and put inventory away for my fleet managers. This helps relieve some of the stresses from my customers by keeping their employees focused on the job in front of them and not pulling them off a job to help put product away.

Another task I love to do is helping my fellow techs, whether it be putting away new inventory or changing tires, I love to be part of our team.

What’s one thing you wish someone would have told you before you took your current job?

I changed roles from commercial tech to sales at the height of the pandemic!! One of the things I wish I had been warned of before changing positions was how to be versatile. Everything I have learned going into this position was thrown out the window. I had to learn a complete new way of selling because in-person visits were unheard of. I had to start to utilize Zoom or Team meetings but also social media to meet new people or get my name out to our customers and new potential customers. I had so many obstacles and hurdles to go around, I quickly learned a new set of skills on the fly and came out victorious!!

Tell us about your family.

I have a loving family that has supported me from day one. My wife is my biggest supporter who understands that sometimes we have to do family functions around my busy work schedule. I have four beautiful kids, Kadin, 17, Kamren, 11, Kaeleb, 9, and my little princess Kalieh, 6. I love when I hear my kids talking to their friends and I hear them say, “My dad can fix your bike tire. He’s a tire man.”

What did you learn about yourself in the course of the COVID-19 pandemic?

I learned so much about myself, things I’ve never seen in myself that others could see. This pandemic has made me more confident in myself, which made my job that much easier. I can honestly say it’s brought out the best in me.

Name a talent you wish you had.

One talent I secretly wish I had was the ability to play the piano. I love the way jazz pianists play and sound, not to mention the way they move while playing but also the quickness of their hands on the keys.

How do you recover from a bad or stressful day?

When I have a stressful day nothing relaxes me more than talking about my day with my wife. She has a way of turning my bad day into a positive one just by listening and giving me her input. Another way I unwind is by going to the gym, turning the volume up on my headphones and jamming out to my playlist. I enjoy living an active, healthy lifestyle.

If you won an Olympic gold medal, how would you have earned it? (You can make up a sport.)

Something not a lot of people know about me is in high school I was a division champion in freestyle wrestling, but also placed in the top 10 for all of Ontario. I would have loved to have stuck with it and went to the Olympics. It would be an honor to compete but also win gold in wrestling.