On the Rise: Trevor Adams

Dec. 10, 2019

Trevor Adams

General Manager | Adams Tireworx LLC | Age: 25

What was your first job in the industry?

I grew up in the family business and now represent the third generation to begin to take ownership of the company. I had gone to college to pursue a different line of work but did not enjoy it. I then started working at Les Schwab Tires, where I grew a passion for tires and offering the best customer service.

What attracted you to the industry?

What attracted me to the industry are the constant changes and challenges. I also love the more opportunities I get versus the other jobs I’ve taken. I also love just getting to know our customers and their families.

What is the biggest challenge you have faced in your career?

My biggest challenge right now is starting up a new store from scratch and trying to put a dent in the market.

Who has had the biggest influence on your career?

I would say my father. He has showed me how to run the business and how to make our customers and employees happy to be here. Also, other tire store owners, such as Tom, my former boss at Les Schwab Tires, have shown me how to run a tire store and be successful.

What is your biggest accomplishment in the industry?

My biggest accomplishment has been building the tire store from scratch.

How do you spend your workday?

My workday consists of opening and closing our stores, keeping up with the marketing and staying up-to-date on our numbers, while being in the front office 80% of the time, and serving our customers and helping out in the bays when needed.

If a friend expressed an interest in joining the industry, what advice would you give them?

 I would advise a friend to start out in the tire industry and build the experience and knowledge that will follow him or her anywhere he or she goes. Also, do not be afraid to ask questions about how the company is doing, how to do certain jobs, different methods and so on. Showing an interest in the business and the industry is a valuable trait.

What do you expect to be doing 20 years from now?

Twenty years from now, I will probably have ownership of the business or share it with my younger brother, who is learning the industry now.

Aside from the basics like health insurance, what’s the most important perk/benefit an employer should offer?

I would say training events. One of the perks of working at our stores is the consistent training we get to have through our parts vendors.

What’s the biggest issue facing the tire industry?

The biggest issue facing the tire industry is finding young technicians that have an interest in growing in the industry. There will always be tires to be sold and great service to be given.

Tell us about your family.

 I’ve been blessed with a great family with a long history. My grandfather started the business in 1965 and my dad took ownership in 2002. I work alongside my father and brother. I have two sisters and one other brother, as well.

What’s the worst cliché or generalization made about your generation?

That everyone in my generation does not know how to work hard and smart and that we all want it for free.

Name a talent you wish you had.

 Musical talent, such as singing. My dad can sing but I cannot hold a note to save my life.

What’s your favorite childhood memory?

Favorite memories I have as a child generally were going hunting with my dad and grandfather and the constant wheelies I would do to knock my dad off the ATV.

If you could have dinner with anyone, living or dead, who would it be?

I have always wanted to have dinner with a sitting president. I may or may not agree with their policies but I think it would be such an honor to spend time learning from them as a human versus how the media on either side portray him or her.

Do you live by a mantra or motto? If so, what is it?

To love and treat everyone with respect, as if they are your family.

What’s your go-to song for a road trip playlist?

 “I’m Still a Guy” by Brad Paisley

 If tomorrow you could move into any other position in your company, what would you choose, and why?

 I like the position I am in currently and do not want to change. I really enjoy the everyday challenges and being able to speak with customers and work on their cars. I love what I do.

What’s your favorite weekend activity?

 I love going out either to watch the Giants or Athletics play baseball.

Who’s your role model?

 My father is my role model. He has shown me not just how to run a business, but also how to be a father and raise the family I hope to have some day in the future.

If we gave you $1,000 and one hour, how would you spend the money?

I would call up my Snap-on rep and buy more tools.

What advice would you give your high school self?

Don’t be afraid to be yourself and enjoy the time you are in school. Stay vigilant and keep pushing forward.