Plaza Tire Service Opens Store No. 70

Sept. 21, 2021

Plaza Tire Service Inc. has added a second location in Jonesboro, Ark., giving the company 70 locations in four states.

The company has locations throughout Missouri, as well as in Southern Illinois, Western Kentucky and Northern Arkansas.

The newest store was built at 4301 East Johnson Avenue in Jonesboro and has more than 8,700 square feet. It includes eight service bays and a large space for tire storage.

“We’ve been doing business in Jonesboro for more than 23 years,” says Mark Rhodes, president of Plaza Tire Service. “The city has grown tremendously during that time, and we’re excited to have this new location open to help serve residents and businesses in and around Jonesboro.”

The bays feature equipment to handle tire installations and repairs, wheel balancing, alignments, brakes, shock and strut replacements, oil changes, battery replacements and more. Other routine maintenance services including fluid flushes for transmissions, power steering systems, coolant systems and brake systems are also performed in the new store.

While Plaza Tire Service offers a variety of vehicle maintenance and repair services, its core business is tires, and the new Jonesboro store is designed to stock approximately 2,000 tires. Inventory is continually replenished through the company’s warehouse and distribution center in Cape Girardeau, Mo.

“Our goal with our showroom layout is a clean, comfortable area for our customers,” says Scott Rhodes, vice president of Plaza Tire Service. “Huge windows overlook our bays for customers who want to watch the work performed on their vehicles. We also have a couple of TVs with different programming on each, and we have incorporated several high-top tables that are great for people who are trying to get a little work done while they’re waiting.”

The Rhodes brothers are the second generation owners of Plaza Tire Service, a business their father founded in 1963. Mark Rhodes and Scott Rhodes were the winners of MTD's Tire Dealer of the Year Award in 2017.