Consumer Tires Racing

Hankook Tire wins Formula Drift Pro, World Series and Tire Cup Championships

Order Reprints

Hankook Tire driver Fredric Aasbo has been crowned the 2015 Formula Drift Pro and World Series Champion following this past weekend’s final round At Irwindale Speedway.  Hankook drivers Ken Gushi and Chris Forsberg finished the season second and third place overall.  Aasbo’s Pro and World series championships are the his first of his Formula Drift racing career.
Aasbo held the Pro Series points lead going into the seventh and final round of the Formula Drift season, with fellow Hankook Tire driver Ken Gushi just behind him in second place and Chris Forsberg in fourth overall.  Qualifying in fifth position in his Hankook Tire/Rockstar Energy Scion tC, Aasbo was pitted against Kristaps Bluss in the Top 32 round.  Things got dicey when Bluss spun out on the pair’s second run, causing Aasbo to make contact with Bluss.  But in the end it didn’t matter, Aasbo went on to dominate at Irwindale ultimately winning the final race of the year with a first place finish.  Hankook Tire drivers Ken Gushi and Forest Wang rounded out the winner’s podium at Irwindale in second and third place.
In addition to the Irwindale podium sweep, Hankook Tire teammates Ken Gushi and Chris Forsberg finished the season in second and third place overall, making the 2015 Formula Drift championship a first, second and third place sweep for Hankook.
“Winning the Final Fight at Irwindale Speedway was the perfect way to wrap up our best season yet,” said Hankook Tire driver Fredric Aasbo. “With Hankook sweeping the podium I think we’re put an exclamation mark behind the outstanding performance of the Ventus R-S3 Tires!”
All of Hankook’s Formula Drift drivers race on Hankook’s Ventus R-S3 Extreme Performance tire.  The Ventus R-S3 is designed for serious sports car, sports coupe and performance sedan enthusiasts looking for race tire-like traction on the street or for use in autocross, drifting or track events.
In addition to Assbo’s championship win, he and his fellow Hankook Tire teammates secured enough points to win Hankook Tire its third consecutive Formula Drift Tire Cup championship.  Hankook Tire has won the Formula Drift Tire Cup championship each year since its 2013 inaugural year.
“Fredric and his team, all of our teams, have done an amazing job this year,’ said Paul Jho, Hankook Motorsports Marketing Manager. “Winning the Formula Drift championship and the Tire Cup championship again is an amazing outcome for the 2015 season. I can’t think of a better way to end the season!”

You must login or register in order to post a comment.