On the Rise: Heather Smith

Oct. 31, 2023

Heather Smith

Assistant manager | Mr. Tire/Monro Inc. | Bridgeville, Del. | Age: 38

What was your first job in the industry?

When I was 18 years old and I worked in the Walmart Tire and Lube Express changing oil and tires. My first "real" shop was Clarksville Auto Service Center in Ocean View, Del.

What attracted you to the industry?

My family has had me around cars since I was younger. I have always loved cars and being able to help people stay safe on the road or make modifications to their vehicles that make them happy! I love talking with our guests as they wait for their vehicles to be serviced and to help them make the right tire choice for what suits their needs.

What is the biggest challenge you’ve faced in your career?

The biggest challenge I have faced in my career has been the transition from the "need" side to the "want" side of the industry, then back to the "want" side again. It was a huge adjustment that I have made into a success.

Who has had the biggest influence on your career?

The biggest influence for me has been my big brother, Paul.

What is your biggest accomplishment in the industry?

I feel my biggest accomplishment in the industry has not fully happened yet. I can say I pride myself in the Google reviews that my store receives and how I have helped increase our review rates and star rates.

Tell us about your current job and responsibilities. How do you spend your workday?

I spend my days helping out guests with tires, maintenance work on their vehicle, building estimates, building relationships with our guests. I help keep the flow of the shop work and ordering parts, keeping in contact with guests about their vehicles.

What's been the biggest surprise of your current job?

The biggest surprise of my current job has been building lasting relationships with our guests and having them leave reviews for our store.

Tell us about your family.

I am a mom of three amazing kids, a 16-year-old daughter, 16-year-old son (I don't believe in saying step), and a 2-year-old daughter. My husband works for Advance Auto Parts as a commercial manager which is how we met about 12 years ago. My oldest daughter is starting her junior year of high school and is very active in her Coast Guard ROTC program, which she plans to join when she turns 17. My son lives in Mississippi and is also a junior in high school. He plans to become a video game designer. My youngest daughter is a light of our world and the miracle we never thought we would receive.

My mom sadly passed away from lung cancer eight years ago. My dad lives in North Carolina with his wife and helps take care of her dad. My brother owns his own automotive shop doing customizations.

If you could wake up tomorrow with one new skill, what would you choose?

If I could have one skill in life, I would choose to learn more about my current trade. You can always learn more to better yourself. I learn something new every day.

In a single word, how would your friends describe you?


If you could switch jobs for a day, what job/who would you choose to swap with, and why?

If I could switch jobs for a day, it would be with my brother. I would love to learn how to do vehicle customizations and one day maybe own a shop of my own with my husband doing both mechanical repairs, tires and vehicle customizations in one building.

What's the biggest issue facing the tire industry?

The biggest issue I face in the tire industry is making sure I am getting the guest the right tire for their needs.

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?

When I was a kid I wanted to be a marine biologist or a police officer.

What goal did you set for yourself this year? Are you on track to reach it?

This year my goal has been to buy my own home. I am slowly getting to the right track to make that American dream come true.

What do you expect to be doing 20 years from now?

I expect to either have my own shop or to be the store manager at my current shop.