On the Rise: Rachel Morris

Oct. 31, 2023

Rachel Morris

Director of customer experience | TireHub LLC |  Columbus, Ohio | Age: 37

What was your first job in the industry?

I started my career in the industry as a retail development specialist at Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co. In that role, I had the opportunity to call on customers in all different segments of the industry which helped me better understand the unique challenges each type of customer faces.

What attracted you to the industry?  

I always loved cars and had a lot of respect for Goodyear's quality and their history in my home state of Ohio. When I interviewed at Goodyear, I saw how much pride people took in their work and I was hooked. Throughout the years, I've had the pleasure of getting to know many families who have successful multi-generational businesses and that continues to fuel my passion to serve customers and find ways to help them be successful.

What is the biggest challenge you've faced in your career?

Each time I've transitioned to a new segment in the industry (from manufacturing to retail to wholesale), it's been exciting and rewarding. Every segment has unique challenges and opportunities, and I enjoy pushing myself to learn quickly so that I can contribute to the success of all of them.

Who has had the biggest influence on your career?

Jim O'Hara, director of wholesale distribution at Goodyear, hired me for my first job in the industry. His advice and mentorship have been invaluable over the years. Nikki Roberson, vice president of communications, culture, and customer experience, has helped me learn a tremendous amount about different ways to approach challenges, ways to communicate more effectively, and how to effect change on a large scale.

What is your biggest accomplishment in the industry?  

I'm most proud of helping create the first LGBTQ+ resource groups at both Goodyear and TireHub. I've had the honor of witnessing the impact those groups have on people and their families, and I'm grateful to have had a part in that. Our industry benefits from diversity of thought, experience and ideas. By creating more inclusive environments, people can truly thrive in their careers because they can bring their whole self to work and get support when needed.

Tell us about your current job and responsibilities. How do you spend your workday?

I'm the director of customer experience at TireHub, and my role is to improve the customer experience by working across all departments to identify customer and Hubber (employee) pain points, highlight and escalate issues, implement process improvements, and measure success with a focus on improved customer satisfaction. I gather feedback from customers and Hubbers to find opportunities to exceed expectations, then work across all teams at TireHub to help achieve our customer experience goals.

What's been the biggest surprise of your current job?

This was a newly created role at TireHub when I started my current job, so I wasn't sure what to expect going into it. One of the most pleasant surprises for me was just how much I learn every day from my fellow Hubbers (employees). I get the opportunity to work with every department, and it's a great way to fully understand how things are interconnected. It gives me a unique perspective to help me effect change.

Tell us about your family.

My wife and I have been married for six years and have three dogs that we absolutely adore. We love spending weekends outside with dogs enjoying nature as much as possible.

If you could wake up tomorrow with one new skill, what would you choose?

I would love to wake up and be fluent in American Sign Language.

In a single word, how would your friends describe you?


If you could switch jobs for a day, what job/who would you choose to swap with, and why?

I would choose to be secretary of state for a day. It would be fascinating to work with other countries, negotiate on a global scale, and better understand how interconnected we all are.

What's the biggest issue facing the tire industry?

From artificial intelligence, to EVs, to point of sale systems, technology is always changing and evolving. It can be challenging and costly to keep up with that evolution.

When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?

I was raised in a family that believed a woman's purpose was to get married and have children, so as a child I didn't know I had options to be anything else when I grew up. I'm very thankful that I chose to pave my own way and build the life I have today.

What goal did you set for yourself this year? Are you on track to reach it?  

Ever since COVID-19, my only goal has been to be happy and focus on the most important things in life, and I try to do that every day.

What do you expect to be doing 20 years from now?  

In 20 years I hope to be close to retirement and able to look back and say that I took risks, challenged myself, and helped others be successful along the way.