Current Issue

PREMIUM CONTENT FOR SUBSCRIBERS ONLY

Retail

Pirelli returns to Watkins Glen this weekend

Order Reprints

Round 5 of the 2009 Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series Presented by Crown Royal Cask No. 16 begins at Watkins Glen this Saturday for the Sahlen’s Six Hours of the Glen – Grand-Am’s first endurance race since January’s Rolex 24 at Daytona. 

Coverage of this weekend’s six-hour endurance race on the historic 3.4-mile Watkins Glen International road course will be broadcast live on SPEED in two parts: beginning 2 p.m. ET (11 a.m. PT), Saturday, June 6, continuing again live at 6 p.m. ET (3 p.m. PT) until the checkered flag flies.

To meet the challenge of a full field of Grand-Am Rolex Series Daytona Prototype and GT cars in what basically amounts to an all-out six hour sprint race, Pirelli Tire North America already has in place at Watkins Glen a full complement of P Zero racing tires and ample support personnel and equipment.  The massive effort includes 2,200 P Zero racing slicks, 800 P Zero rain tires, seven tire engineers, 20 technicians and seven support trucks.

Related Articles

Pirelli tackles Watkins Glen a second time this season

Michelin returns to Watkins Glen in style

Michelin returns to historic Watkins Glen

You must login or register in order to post a comment.