Michelin inducted into Sebring Hall of Fame

Order Reprints

Michelin knows well the path to the winners’ circle and podium at the Twelve Hours of Sebring competition, having celebrated overall victories in the last 11 consecutive races here at America’s premier sports car event. The 2010 edition of the American Le Mans Series season opener will, however, find Michelin in a new setting, the Sebring Hall of Fame.

Michelin will become the first tire maker ever enshrined in the Sebring Hall of Fame, and just the fourth manufacturer joining Porsche, Ferrari and Audi.

“Michelin is truly honored to be the first tire maker inducted into the Sebring Hall of Fame and to join Audi, Ferrari, Porsche and so many legendary drivers, team owners and officials here,” said Nick Shorrock, director of Michelin Group motorsport division.

In making the announcement, the Sebring Hall of Fame noted the following Michelin accomplishments;
Michelin equipped cars have dominated Sebring since 1999, scoring 11 consecutive overall wins, first tire manufacturer to accomplish such a streak
Michelin has earned 31 class victories at Sebring since 1999 and has recorded 106 wins in the 109 race history of the American Le Mans Series
Michelin has won the 24 Hours of Le Mans for 12 consecutive years
Michelin introduced the Michelin Green X Challenge for the American Le Mans Series at Sebring in 2009

“We are pleased that the Sebring Hall of Fame has noted the significance of the Michelin Green X Challenge,” said Shorrock. “It is with our spirit of innovation and commitment to the environment that the Michelin Green X Challenge was formed and continues to grow as the premier global environmental race with events in Asia, Europe and North America.”

You must login or register in order to post a comment.