Nominations for the TIA Hall of Fame open May 1

April 21, 2008

The Tire Industry Association (TIA) will begin accepting nominations for the 2008 Tire Industry Hall of Fame on May 1, 2008. All entries must be received by July 1.

The Tire Industry Hall of Fame is open to individuals in the tire industry, including manufacturers, inventors, publishers, equipment suppliers, tire association executives, tire dealers, tire and rubber recyclers and retreaders.

The hall's "Historical Contributors" category recognizes those individuals who have been out of the industry for at least 20 years or more. These individuals may be retired, deceased, or may have begun their career in the tire industry and moved on to a different industry.

Inductees are chosen based on the following criteria:

1. their contributions of new ideas, practices, and/or innovations that promote the health and well-being of the tire industry;

2. their exemplary and distinguished service in the tire industry; and

3. the respect of their peers.

Contributions in civic, cultural, educational, or charitable endeavors will be considered but are not a primary consideration for selection.

"The TIA Hall of Fame Committee is always faced with a great challenge when it comes to selecting the honorees," says TIA President Peggy Fisher. "The profiles of those nominated reflect lifetimes of achievement as business and community leaders. It's always a difficult decision."

TIA also is accepting nominations for the Friend of the Industry Award (a former International Tire and Rubber Association award), which recognizes well-known individuals who are allies and proven supporters of the tire industry. These individuals are not part of the tire industry, but have affected it positively in some manner.

The deadline for nominations for both awards is July 1. Nomination forms are available on or by calling TIA headquarters at (301) 430-7280, ext. 109.

The 2007 hall of fame inductees were: Norman Affleck, retired CEO and president of Big O Tires; Craig Anderson, retired CEO and president of Hercules Tire & Rubber Co.; Ira Cooper, who formed The Cooper Corp., later to be known as Cooper Tire and Rubber Co.; Robert Eisentrout, regarded by many as "the father of American performance tires" and former president of BF Goodrich Tire Group; Otto and Willy Gruber, founders of Otto Gruber & Co., known today as Rema Tip Top; and Rudy Holman and Neil McIntyre, developers of the Orbitread extruder.

The hall of fame inductions will take place on Tuesday, Nov. 4, at the 2008 Specialty Equipment Market Association Show in Las Vegas during TIA's Breakfast with the President at the Planet Hollywood Resort and Casino. For further information, visit