Smallwood, Sikora Enter Hall of Fame

Oct. 31, 2023

Sumitomo Rubber North America Inc.'s (SRNA) Richard Smallwood and scrap tire recycling champion Mary Sikora have joined the Tire Industry Hall of Fame.

Both Smallwood and Sikora were inducted on Oct. 30 during a special event sponsored by the Tire Industry Association that preceded the opening of the 2023 SEMA Show.

Smallwood is the retired president and CEO of SRNA and remains chairman of the company. He also serves on the board of Sumitomo Rubber U.S.A. and is an advisor of Sumitomo Rubber Industries Ltd., SRNA's parent.

Sikora, a longtime advocate of scrap tire recycling, is the publisher, editor and owner of Scrap Tire News/Recycling magazine.

During his acceptance speech, Smallwood shared four things that he learned during his 35 years in the tire industry, including 22 years at SRNA, formerly known as Falken Tire Corp.

"First, always do the right thing. If you want to earn the trust and respect of others, they have to know that you will always do the right thing."

The second lesson? "Always take care of your people and treat them with respect," he said. "Employees aren't assets. You don't buy, sell and dispose of people."

Next, "don't ever underestimate the impact you have on other people's lives. Don't waste that opportunity."

And finally, "say thank you. A simple thank you can make a big impact on another person's life."

Click here to read more about Smallwood and Sikora's tire industry accomplishments.

About the Author

Mike Manges | Editor

Mike Manges is Modern Tire Dealer’s editor. A 25-year tire industry veteran, he is a three-time International Automotive Media Association award winner and holds a Gold Award from the Association of Automotive Publication Editors. Mike has traveled the world in pursuit of stories that will help independent tire dealers move their businesses forward. Before rejoining MTD in September 2019, he held corporate communications positions at two Fortune 500 companies and served as MTD’s senior editor from 2000 to 2010.